Michael P


foot details
September 23, 2008, 4:33 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

so i went to the doctor today (twice) to get an x-ray then to get the cast removed. the doctor didn’t have the cutter, so he had to borrow it from the US embassy. When i arrived at 7pm to get it removed, the power was out (typical here) so i had to wait an hour before the power came go back on. The tool was like a glorified dremel that looked like it was from the 50’s. regardless of its age, it did the job. my foot was really gross when it saw the light of day for the first time since august 9th. I was half expecting bugs and a gross rash to be on my foot when the cast was removed, but luckily there was nothing but a bunch of gross dead skin. I thought stuff was crawling around in my cast and it didn’t seem to far fetched since there are lots of bugs here.
After the doctor i had to find a way home. I was about 25 minutes from uttara. It took about 10 minutes to walk to the main road, then it took like 20 minutes to get a cng to take me back. Walking feels pretty weird. my left leg has atrophied pretty badly. my calf and quad are visibly smaller than the right side. i just tried jumping up and down on my left leg to see how it would feel, but i can’t. My leg is too weak. the spot where i broke my foot is slightly swollen and it still kind of hurts, so i’ll be taking it easy for a while before i get back to my normal 10k run every morning.

Before


After


in the second picture, I’m wearing a lungi. It’s the traditional dress for men here. I told my students that i liked lungis and they went out and bought me two. They are super comfortable.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

