Michael P


cultural differences
September 26, 2008, 7:43 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

not much is new here. at the end of my class on wednesday i asked my class if they understood what i had been teaching. it’s hard to tell if they are actually understanding what’s going on. Many times i’ll ask if they understand when i tell them to do something and they will just stare at me and not do what i told them to do. I’ve heard that for them to say “I don’t understand” is viewed as an insult to the person giving instructions, so they say they understand as a form of being polite, even thought it doesn’t get me anywhere.
anyways, i asked if they understood, they said yes, then i gave them a thumbs up as to say “ok, good”. I immediately realized that the thumbs up meant something different here and apologized. the entire class started laughing and gave me the thumbs up back. true story.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

