Michael P


Dhaka – One giant pasture
October 4, 2008, 9:30 pm
Filed under: culture | Tags: , ,

One thing i wasn’t expecting about dhaka was all the livestock.  Dhaka has about 12.5 million people.  It’s really crowded and on top of all the people there are also a fair number of cows and goats.  Often times i’ll see people walking their cows or goats around my neighborhood.  They take them to an open lot where the animals much on plants.  My favorite is when you’re driving on the freeway and you see someone grazing their goats on the lawn/shrubs on the side of the freeway.  Only in Bangladesh is the phrase i always say to myself.  I have two cows that live across the street from me.  I can see them from my room and when they are mooing i can close my eyes and feel like i’m on a farm, then someone drives down my street honking at people to get out of the way and i’m immediately brought back to reality. 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

